The Jagiellonian University
The 640-year-old Jagiellonian University moved in to the building at the corner of the Jagiellonska and Sw. Anny streets in 1400, when King Vladislav II Jagiello bought the house with funds his late wife, queen-saint Jadwiga, had earmarked for the renewal of Krakow’s alma mater. Thus the Grand College, or Collegium Maius, was born.
The beautiful college courtyard is accessible free of charge daylong plus on odd evenings when it provides picturesque background for open-air theater or musical events. At 11 a.m., 1 p.m., and 3 p.m. the courtyard clock performs little show with wooden figures of kings and famous professors parading to solemn music.
The Museum of the Jagiellonian University in the Collegium Maius shows upstairs its splendid historic rooms with original furnishings, good collection of the old European art, unique science instruments, and varied memorabilia. The opening hours are from 10 a.m. to 3 p.m. on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays, to 6 p.m. on Tuesdays and Thursdays, and to 2 p.m. on Saturdays. Admittance for individual visitors is free of charge on Tuesdays, from 3 p.m. to 6 p.m. It's always advisable to book tickets to the university museum in advance via phone at (+48) 126631307.
Downstairs the museum of the Collegium Maius organizes frequent temporary exhibitions. Plus there is a permanent educational show, 'The World of Senses', that demonstrates human powers of perception and misperception, open on weekdays from 10 a.m. to 2:30 p.m. and on Saturdays from 10 p.m. to 1:30 p.m.